What software should I be using to record my riffs with?

I have a Windows computer and an Android phone just for reference. Total newb and have no idea where to start with this lol.

5 Likes

@hoodz91 Welcome to the BassBuzz forum!
When you have time, join us on the Introduce Yourself! thread.

As to your question, I recommend Audacity. It’s not flashy but it’s easy to use with lots of resources on line if you need any help.

Also, depending on the sound quality you’re looking for you might consider getting a USB audio interface. (Think of it as a high quality external sound card with lots of connection designed for sound recording.) You don’t need one. It all depends on the equipment you have and how professional you want your recording to sound.

1 Like

Audacity is limited, simple to use, and great.
As to getting your bass sounds into your computer: how much do you want to spend, and does your amp have a line out-option?

1 Like

Thanks a lot guys. I’ll make sure to hop over to the introduce myself section soon. I have the Vox headphone amp currently. I also have a usb chord for my bass from playing Rocksmith so I am hoping I can use that as a way to connect it to my computer. Is Audacity a phone app or computer program? Or both?

1 Like

Computer program. It’s limited but free and a good start for simple recording.

1 Like

Ive used rocksmith cables before I got an audio interface. Once you get ASIO4ALL drivers setup it works decently. I think it would work with audacity but I have to say i used reaper, which is a more full featured, and therefore complex bit of software.

2 Likes

I use this and its great…super simple run line out from your amp or use the built in amp models, reverbs, pedals, etc.

3 Likes