What to "play" in a guitar store?

I know a lot of you do this on a regular basis… go to a guitar store and test drive basses. Awesome!

Personally, I haven’t really worked up enough “courage” yet to do this more regularly, mainly because I really don’t know what to play/noodle when I stand there and half/all of the store is listening. I don’t want to look like the complete newbie twerp I feel I am and scrape together a C major scale or some simple riffs, which get annoying/old after 10 seconds max.

This is all a bit silly perhaps, but, really, what do you play in such a case? What gives you the feedback you want? What is the best strategy for a beginner to “half-badass” bass player to test a bass in a store? What tone settings should you use on the bass/on the amp?

Also, what riffs/melodies/lines do you absolutely NOT want to play under any circumstances?? Apparently, guitar players get shushed/shown the door if they start playing “Stairway to Heaven”…

Looking forward to a good discussion :smile:

6 Likes

Funny you should ask, @joergkutter . . . I happened to go to the local music Guitar Center last Sunday and tried a short scale bass.

I just played my usual ‘warmup routine’: essentially extended scales up and down the entire neck loosely formed into progressions of A, D, and E major. I can get a sense of the tone and playability of the bass, and a good feel of the neck . . . without worrying whether anyone is listening to me or not, because I’m not playing a “song” they know . . . :slight_smile:

I used their Rumble 100 amp set the way mine is.

HTH and all best, Joe

4 Likes

@joergkutter -
I can help!
I worked in a music shop for years, and I still teach at one a few days a week.
Let me tell you a few things:

You won’t do anything in the store that will shock, dismay, or awe the staff or customers. Everyone is there for their own reasons.
The staff has heard everything a million times.
Most common bass things played:
Blues patterns
Something slappy