What was your second bass? (assuming your first one was an entry level one)

I play a Yamaha TRBX-174. It’s my first bass. It costs around 250 US dollars.

I’ve been playing for around 10 months now and play every single day. And now I start to wonder. Apart from the different tone from different basses what else do I get from buying a more expensive one?

Does it play better? Sound better? Better build quality? Less static noise? Etc. etc.

So for those of you who bought a sub 250 dollar bass as your first one and then upgraded later on…what model did you buy and what’s your experience?

7 Likes

My second bass was a Yamaha TRBX604FM that was my main bass for years, great instruments.

3 Likes

My first bass was This less than $100 no name, but I only kept it for about a week. Once I had confirmed that I was hooked on bass (and wanted to take the B2B course on a 5 string) , I returned it and bought a Yamaha BB235. I went through the course on that bass, and later upgraded to my current go-to, the BB735.

3 Likes

My first bass was a Squier CV Jaguar.

Somewhat embarrassingly, my second was a Dingwall NG3 Nolly Sig.4 in Ferrari Green.

And yes, it sounds better, plays better, feels better, looks better, stays in adjustment better and basically is better in every way.

It didn’t make me a better player though, and people kind of make assumptions about your ability when you pull something like that out of a gig bag.

I did find myself being a bit precious with it initially and was hesitant about using it outside of the house. I got over it though. :wink:

8 Likes

My first bass was an Epiphone Accu-Bass, circa 1990. My second bass was a Yamaha RBX 260, circa 2000. My third bass was an Ibanez SR300, circa 2010. None of those were bought as an upgrade to the previous, they were all bought (excepting the Epiphone, of course) because I’d sold the prior bass thinking I was never going to play bass again.