What's with the flame roasted stuff?

What’s the deal with flame roasted this and that? Necks, tops, fretboards/fingerboards… They are popping up everywhere…

Is that just a new craze/fad or is there more to it? I don’t remember them being around at all when I started playing bass (and that is not that long ago :wink:).

Enlighten me :smile:

5 Likes

Is this something different than roasted maple necks? If not, AFAICT it’s a fad, but a nice looking one.

3 Likes

Yes, maybe it’s mostly done on maple, not sure… but, yeah, that’s what I meant :wink:

1 Like
2 Likes

Thanks, @jacq - will need to watch more closely later. But, I think, that’s not quite what I was thinking of.

More stuff like this:

2 Likes

That’s just quartersawn roasted maple. It is supposed to be stronger/more stable than a regular maple, and less susceptible to weather changes. And it looks nice :heart_eyes:

3 Likes

The stronger/dryer part I feel is potentially hype, or at least unproven. But it looks amazing to me too yeah.

1 Like

You are right. Apparently, there is Roasted (Torrefied) and Flamed wood. Two different techniques. The latter seems like it is mostly for aesthetics rather than any function.

“Flame roasted” is IMHO marketing. The way I understand it “Flamed” is not necessarily “Roasted” :man_shrugging:

Here are other links I found about torrefaction:
https://www.pre-warguitars.com/torrefied-wood

1 Like

I have a combo of roasted and non, I can’t comment on whether or not it is stronger, but it is lighter and doesn’t need to be sealed. I have to adjust my truss rods throughout the year because I am in a tropical climate, and do less so on my ones that are roasted. I read on the internet (must be true) that it is actually cheaper production-wise to use roasted rather than finishing a standard maple neck. To add to the debate, there is supposed to be a sound difference. If I were you, I would replace all my maple necks at once!!! :stuck_out_tongue_winking_eye:

2 Likes