Which bass is better?

Hey guys, just a beginner here looking to get a good deal on a starter bass. I’ve got a couple options:

1. An OLP StingRay with a broken tone knob (otherwise great condition) for $150.
  2. A Yamaha TRBX174 with a few bumps and scratches for $180.

Which would you go for? I was leaning Yamaha on sound alone, but I’ve heard great things about the real StingRay and read that OLP does a pretty masterful job of imitating the original instrument. Anyway just curious if anyone has strong opinions on this. (Feel free to tell me neither.)

Thanks guys!

5 Likes

Really kind of impossible to say without knowing more about the condition of both, but the price on either seems high to me. The TRBX is not terribly more than that new. The 174 is a perfect starter bass though, that whole line is fantastic.

5 Likes

Both, but cheaper. I think @howard is totally correct on not being far from the list price on the Yamaha. That said, you might be getting a better deal on the Stingray. But you have repair to make on it already.
As far as tone. You’ll get all kinds of tone out of each. The advantage to the Yamaha is that it’s a PJ. So, you can get that P-bass tone and introduce that Jazz tone to whatever degree you like.
In my experience, I tend to play with a bit more funk and aggression on Stingray’s I like they way they growl. I tend to play more dynamically on PJ basses–lots of different genres.

5 Likes

Yamaha.

2 Likes

I’d go with OLP. You can just swap out the knob or better yet the entire electronics. There’s no sub $200 bass profile that’s wider than P bass at 41.3, most are Jazz bass neck profile at 38mm at nut. It probably means nothing to you right now but the closest profile to the MusicMan Stingray is the Sterling Ray 34(Stingray) and the price starts at $1000.