Wood identification

Can anyone help me with identifying the veneer on the front of my bass? It looks like Maple to me, but I’m no expert on wood. It seems a funny thing to see on a (presumed) cheapy bass.

Google brings up nothing on Bluerock instruments other than an article that gave an association with Tanglewood (which has since disappeared). I know it’s a budget instrument but I am quite intruiged by it as the quality seems really good.

It’s not going to stop me from turning it into a Frankenbass, though- I only paid £25 for it with matching Branded practice amp.

2 Likes

It certainly has the appearance of flamed maple. The rolled edge of the body on one photograph suggests it is not veneer, which is usually no more than 2mm thick. So it could be a flamed maple top, usually about 10mm thick - if you can see a glue line around the edge. If not, it could be a paint / print finish. Whatever it is, it looks good.

3 Likes

It certainly appears to be a veneer to me. The back is two pieces of what appear to be basswood at a guess (better than the poor guy on YouTube that stripped down a very expensive Telecaster only to find it was seven bits of wood glued together- which brings me back to my other thread that all instruments over £500 are purely for bragging rights) since this thing dives like a hungry Sperm whale.

2 Likes

I agree with you on expensive wood choices. I’ve made 14 guitars out of wood pulled out of skips, or 40 year old piles of wood in my dad’s garage. I believe Brian May’s guitar is made of blockboard with mahogany veneer. If it looks good when it’s finished, it’s good.

2 Likes

Funnily enough, I’ve got the bug for making an instrument from scratch, and plywood is going to be the main wood for the first one since it can make some really pretty patterns once sanded. Will be a through neck instrument with three Jazz pups.

1 Like

Front looks like what’s called “photo-flame” maple. Which means it’s essentially a high-res picture Vs actual wood.