10 Songs That Taught Me SLAP (Easy to Effin’ Hard)

Learning slap bass is a long lonely road… here’s 10 songs that taught me how to slap, and how you can level up YOUR slap bass game.

When I started playing bass at age 13, nothing seemed cooler than slap bass. But frankly I sucked at it… for kind of a long time. That’s why all these slap bass lines were so crucial to get my technique to the next level.

Which slap lines, you ask? Well you’ll have to watch the video. You’ll learn things like:

• The easy formula Stuart Zender (and everyone else) uses for funky slap
  • That yes, Flea bass lines will appear in almost every slap bass lesson ever
  • A trick Les Claypool uses to sound more melodic
  • Who the grandfaster of slap bass is
  • How impossible it is to slap the bass too hard (thanks Louis Johnson)
  • Nate Phillips sexy thumb-fingers hybrid technique
  • Marcus Miller slaps amazingly and once wore parachute pants
  • Stupid-sounding-but-fantastic advice from Mark King about slapping fast
  • Squarepusher is not a human and he slaps too fast
  • How Victor Wooten re-revolutionized slap bass

If you’re doing the Beginner to Badass course, these riffs are on the brutally-hard end of the spectrum, and you should proceed with caution with anything beyond the first two songs. :warning: :exploding_head:

10 Songs That Taught Me Bass Spotify Playlist

Here’s the Spotify playlist from my original 10 Songs that Taught Me Bass (Easy to Effin’ Hard) video, with all these lovely slappy songs added -

https://open.spotify.com/playlist/2utdUogbwfKqiDEgXheqJh

All the slap bass tabs n sheet music

Your Thoughts on Slap?

Slap bass - the coolest thing ever, as per 13-year-old Josh’s tastes?

Or overrated / obnoxious / outdated / other adjectives beginning with ‘o’?

15 Likes