$250,000 for a bass!

I am sure some of you have seen or read about this instrument. Made by Jens Ritter, this thing costs $250,000 and is considered to be the most expensive bass, aside from vintage or ones that were owned by legends in the music world. I would be scared to even pick it up, afraid I might blemish it in some way.

4 Likes

I would rather have thisā€¦

I bet its about the same in costā€¦

5 Likes

I was reading that Wymanā€™s was the most expensive followed by the Ritter then a Beatle bass. I guess it depends on the market and who is bidding. But the Ritter is an example of gaudiness. As pretty as it may be, what could you do with it? I would not play it were I rich and wanted it. It would just be put in storage and never played to preserve itā€™s value

1 Like

Oh yeah the mammoth ivory is good for sustain lol. Seriously though I wouldnā€™t get it unless they do a 4-string

2 Likes

If I was a billionaire musician I would totally buy that thing, play it on stage and then smash it at the end of the set.

6 Likes

Not me. I would place it in storage of some type. Of course if I was a billionaire, then the cost of it would be about what a cheap Ibanez would be to us.

2 Likes

Volkswagen Group, who owns Bugatti, donā€™t make any profit selling either the Veyron or the Chiron - these are prestige projects that cost them a lot.

Yes, there is a tiny market for these cars, but itā€™s the publicity, the pushing the limits, and the displaying of a ā€œbecause we canā€ attitude that is important.

Pretty much the same hereā€¦

7 Likes

Diamonds?
Gold?
That price markup is for the the 10 bolt neck.

5 Likes

For that kind of bread that thing should bolt, string, and play itself while it makes coffee, vacuums the house, and washes the car.

And thatā€™s just in the first hour.

Pick up the tempo, Diamond Bass! The goddamn house ainā€™t gonna paint itself!

6 Likes

At that price, one would at least expect it to look nice.

2 Likes