A confession about my amp, and a plea for recommendations

So I have an embarrassing confession, the reason why I haven’t showed y’all my amp is because my current amp (that I had in my attic) is a First Act (like the ones for children) amp you can’t even buy anymore, I wouldn’t dare use it without headphones (except to tune of course) and I wanted to save up for an amp so that by the time I finish B2B I can reward myself with a new (or a nice used) amp. My budget is $300, what would you get?

The Fender Rumble 100 seems to be the most popular in that price range as far as new amps go, but I wouldn’t mind looking for deals on used amps around that price point.

7 Likes

I’m partial to the Rumbles, so I won’t even try to talk you out of the 100 :grin:

8 Likes

The rumble is a good amp I liked it. I bought a TC Electronic BQ250 and every video I record is with that head it even has headphone jack xlr out on the downside you would need a cab. Some of the others will have much better recommendations for you I am sure

3 Likes

Get a Fender Rumble 40 or an Orange Crush 50.

Any remaining money, get a Vox Amplug 2 that you can run headphones on a portable setup so you can practice on the go with a drum beat. Get some picks, some bright roundwound strings, hearing protection, comfortable strap, etc.

Josh has done a pretty good video on this subject:

5 Likes

I had a a Peavy Max15 combo. Was $350 though, but LOUD! I gigged with it, and could continue to do so, but I upgraded for some of the other tone hunting I was doing. It is a 300watt so plenty of headroom and was built solid. If you want something that could take you through 5-7 years of your musical journey it is a good one!

6 Likes

I picked up a used Peavey TKO 115S from eBay for just over $250 aud. 80 watts and more than capable

2 Likes