Acoustic Bass Guitars…

So, I’m considering an acoustic bass. I took my jazz bass in for a small neck adjustment, and I put my hands on the Ibanez AEGB24E. The thumb rest makes a huge difference. And, even though it’s a small body for an acoustic bass, the tone was surprisingly nice (plugged in). Definitely a unique tone, that you’re not going to get from a solid body electric bass. I’m thinking about making the purchase. Thoughts?

3 Likes

I am brand new to bass, zero experience, and I play old time “bluegrass”, mandolin and guitar. I put it in quotes, because I enjoy the style and sounds of the old Appalachian music of the 30’s up to about the 90’s, for several reasons. The bluegrass of today is music to listen to. The fiddle tunes of yesterday was made to be danced to. It was the singing songs that were made to be listened to. Fast tempo songs are not conducive to vocalisation. As a result it was a bit slower, clearer and easier to follow. But why an acoustic bass? The real reason that I chose an acoustic bass, was because there are too many pickers out there that just won’t accept an electric anything in a “real bluegrass band”. I concede that electric basses are becoming more common in bluegrass bands, but the big boys don’t play that game and it’s for a reason. It isn’t popular! The acoustic bass does the job and is less obtrusive in the visual mix. Yes, it is amplified, an in case I run across a “purist”, I’ll just point out that even the upright, double bass players run their basses through small amps. The unamplified bass just can’t compete with those Mastertone banjos and D-28 Martins, and unless you are playing to an audience or 8 to 10 people, you NEED that amplification on your bass.

2 Likes

I think it will make you happy, so you should do it. Plus, the pixies! You clearly need one.

3 Likes