Bad teapot plucking "technique" to cope with/prevent CTS?

I’ve been plagued with CTS (carpal tunnel syndrom) for many years. It all started when I played guitar a lot 10 years ago or so. I developed intense CTS in my fretting hand. It was so bad, that I had to get surgery at some point after having quit playing guitar. After recovering, I still could play again, I just could not play for hours in one sitting.

I was always aware that I had CTS tendecies in my picking/plucking hand as well. But since I always played guitar with a pick, it was not such a big issue. CTS really comes into play if one moves the fingers a lot while having a bent wrist.

Since I started playing bass a few weeks ago (playing finger style, without a pick), I seem to develop noticable CTS symptoms in my plucking hand (numb fingers, burning sensation of the back of the hand etc.). To prevent this, I’m using the “teapot” technique where I raise the arm/shoulder of my picking hand so my wrist is nearly straight. I can even force this by using one of my many wrist orthosis that fixates the wrist and makes it impossible to bent it. I did not know the term “teapot” until I saw a Youtube video the other day where it was declared that his is bad technique and one just should rest the lower arm on the arm rest of the body, shoulder down, and bent the wrist of the plucking hand like 90°. While this is surely relaxing for the arm/shoulder, it is an absolute deal breaker due to my CTS.

I was wondering if some other people might have CTS in their plucking hand and if/how they deal with it.

4 Likes

I keep my wrist completely straight while plucking, resting my arm on the guitar body. No issues at all.

3 Likes

I have wrist problems since a long time, because of working on a computer the whole day. Both hands, so left hand and right hand, but more in the right hand.

I have since adjusted some things that are computer related, but might help you too: