Bass amp electrical properties and DSP

Hi there!

I’m an electrical engineer and recently picked up playing bass (a TRBX174!), so I thought it would be fun to try designing my own solid-state amp. However, I’m unfamiliar with the electrical properties on consumer basses and bass amps and would like to design mine to be roughly as good. I’m shooting for 100W RMS output.

I would like to know things like:
What sort of input voltage range (Vp-p) do amps need to tolerate? Do active and passive basses have massively different output ranges?
Why do many common amps have different attenuator dB values (I’ve seen -6 to -15)? What’s the criterion for choosing these?
I would guess that almost all amps contain several op-amps; what’re usually their rail voltages?
What does a typical frequency response of the onboard EQ look like? How much boost/cut is usually possible, and what frequencies does each band cover?
Big potentiometers are noisy; how is the preamp gain knob set up to avoid this?
What’s a good speaker frequency response range? I understand that the low-B (31 Hz) and low-E string (41 Hz) are heard more by their harmonics, so is a speaker with a corner frequency of 50 Hz good enough?

Most of these questions are about the preamp, as I have a unique DSP idea for the power stage that I’d like to try. All of them might be answered with a single schematic or picture of a PCB, so if anyone has one for a common bass amp (like an Orange Crush or Fender Rumble), that would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks!

3 Likes

Hi @sevenskiesrain, welcome to the forums! I’m going to summon @DaveT, who I believe is a sound engineer of sorts and might be able to answer your questions.

2 Likes

And welcome aboard!

3 Likes

Think we shared some schematics from the Fender Rumble too somewhere on this forum. Best to do a search :eyes:

3 Likes