Bass stand recommendations?

Any suggestions? I just started playing, and my mom wants to know what to get me for Christmas. I’d like a stand, but I’m unsure what to tell her to get.

TIA

KeithW

5 Likes

I like the Hola Music stands. You can get them on Amazon. They’re reasonably priced and very good quality.

4 Likes

I just use the On-stage ones from sweetwater. They’re solid enough for home use and are like $12 which was nice when i needed 3 of them. Though for a christmas gift you might want to go for a slightly better quality one like Hola or Hercules.

5 Likes

I have 2 K&M’s. Not the cheapest but I love them

3 Likes

This is what I got for my multiple basses. Very inexpensive and portable.

5 Likes

I have one of these, cheap, well made.

Would recommend if you are in the market for a floor stand.

4 Likes

Oh I like that, it’s compact.

5 Likes

There’s almost no chance of needing just one. I can sell you my double if @PamPurrs will sell me her triple.

I like the latch at the top in earthquake country. The whole thing could fall over, but I can’t secure everything.

https://www.sweetwater.com/store/detail/GtrStdDuo--on-stage-stands-gs7253b-b-duo-flip-it-double-stand

5 Likes

Yeah, earthquakes are why I am not doing wall hangers.

5 Likes

I don’t think these standard stands are so well suited for bass guitars - I always find that the bass sits somewhat “crooked” in them (most bass bodies are a bit asymmetric), especially if you want to make sure that the neck touches that rubber pad at the apex (which you want).

And, as someone else already said, there is a good chance you will eventually have more than one bass, and then these types of stands start to use up more space. I am happy with these rack types here, which come in different sizes (for 3, 5, 7, … guitars/basses):

9 Likes