Beginner form check

Hi all! I wasn’t sure where else to post this, feel free to delete/move as necessary.

I started playing just over a week ago and thought it would be good to get a bit of a “form check” to make sure I don’t ingrain any bad habits early. If anyone could watch this 40 second clip of me playing part of U2’s “With or Without You” and give some feedback on what I could improve in my form, that would be much appreciated!

(Sorry about the awful audio quality - this is just my laptop’s mic picking up my amp. I may invest in some recording gear later but right now I’m more concerned with playing!)

Some things I’m curious about:

• Is the bass at a good height? I’ve experimented with this a bit and this position feels okay but I do find I get a bit of a sore neck after a while. I’m also 6 months pregnant so the awkward belly bump isn’t helping :stuck_out_tongue:
  • I’m trying to be cognizant of not touching the neck of the bass with my left palm, but I’m curious if this looks ok (especially with my pinky)

All constructive criticism welcomed and appreciated! Thanks :slight_smile:

9 Likes

I’m sure you will plenty of constructive advice from the more experienced members. I wouldn’t be worried if I was like that after a week.

5 Likes

looks fine to me, the next step is making sure you keep fingers close to the fingerboard even when they are not the fretting one. it takes a bit, don’t expect immediate results. keep it up!

4 Likes

I’d say so far, so good @mahtab . . . :slight_smile: Bass height looks fine to me!

Try not to worry so much, you’ll have a lot more than a week before you know it, and remember it takes time and practice!

Cheers
Joe

3 Likes

I can’t tell from the video, but in my case I use a wide, padded strap. This has helped my neck and shoulders a bit. My preference is a KLIQ Aircell strap (long, not regular) , but there are lots of varieties out there.

3 Likes

Thanks! I’ll try to keep this in mind as I progress through the lessons.