Beginner Funk Bass Made Simple (Bootsy’s Funk Formula)

You can be a total beginner, know no theory, and still use this formula to kill it with beginner funk bass and beyond.

Jump right in - 0:46
Hear Bootsy Collins talk about “the one” - 3:02
Learn the groove we’re gonna play - 5:27
Slow playalong - 8:18
Find the right notes with the Funk Box - 9:20
Medium playalong - 10:40
Full playalong - 11:21
Test out the Funk Box yourself - 13:14

Sheet music + tab for our funky playalong:

Had you ever heard Bootsy or anyone else talk about “the one” before? Did this lesson help clarify what that means?

Music Description and Notation Questions

Nicely done, @JoshFossgreen :slight_smile:

Gives me some good ideas for getting into a different music style.

Thanks and all best, Joe

Agreed! I loved the bit of music knowledge/history you detailed with this as well as the instruction for the riff. Though it’s a wee bit tough for me at this stage (I’m hoping my left hand “gets” it pretty soon!), it’s certainly fun stuff to give a try!

-Kev

Dude.
Killer video.
Killer production.

Also - Bootsie reigns supreme.

So does the formula. My first time seeing that.

+1 here, super happy to see these new videos.

Thanks everybody!

@Gio, isn’t that old Bootsy clip at 3:40 so cool! That inspired the whole video, trying to break down what he was saying without any gaps.

Funny story I discovered while researching this video (I forget which Bootsy interview it was in) - apparently when Bootsy met George Clinton, he had to teach him where the one was. Like, meaning that George Clinton couldn’t count 4/4 time when they first started. Pretty wild.

So apparently “on the one” wasn’t just a way of making the music feel funky, it also had a practical role of keeping funky fellas from getting lost!

Whaaaa???

Dude is so deep in outer space - he knows the 1, feels the 1, but doesn’t count the 1… That’s a trip in and of itself.