Complete noob

Hi. I’m P Diddly. I live in Ireland.
My wife bought me a squier jazz bass for my 40th. Look forwarding forward to learning with u guys.

17 Likes

Hey @P_Diddly!
You are in the right place. So your wife bought you the bass and you bought the Beginner2Badass course afterwards?
Can’t clearly tell by your post. Just wanted to recommend the course if you did not buy it yet.

You can also tell us some more about yourself in this thread: Introduce Yourself! (2018-2022)

2 Likes

Welcome @P_Diddly, like @juli0r says the course is excellent.

5 Likes

Welcome @P_Diddly!

4 Likes

You are off to an excellent start sir. Your wife* bought you a bass!! Very auspicious!

5 Likes

Welcome and congrats on the new bass! One of the best things about bass is that you can have fun playing along with songs from day one. That is something the course is great for, but true in its own right too. It all depends on what style music you are into, but try learning Seven Nation Army by the White Stripes, or Feel Good Inc by The Gorrilaz. Both are easy, and you can find good tabs for them online easily as well.

Do you have any musical background? What made you choose bass, or did your wife decide that when she got you one? It is a really fun, really rewarding journey to learn the instrument! Have fun! If you find yourself struggling with something just ask, someone always has the right tip or video to share because we are all learning and struggling together, which makes it easy to help the people who are struggling with something that you just finally figured out. It is a good, kind group here.

7 Likes

Welcome aboard @P_Diddly,
Enjoy the ride.
Cheers Brian

4 Likes

Welcome @P_Diddly
Another vote for the B2B course here :+1:

5 Likes

Hi guys
Newbie here.