Cracks in the Body

Hello, everybody. A noob here, but not to music.

I have a MIM Fender P that, on the recommendation of my stepson, I bought from a pawn shop that he worked at. He didn’t tell me about the 8" crack in the front of the body that pretty much lines up with a 6" crack on the back of the body. Looking at the “heel” (not sure if that’s a term or not – i.e., the bottom of the bass closest to the bridge), it’s evident that this bass was either dropped from a significant height or somebody slammed the heel on the ground. In any event, that is the source of the crack(s).

Repairing these cracks isn’t worth what I paid for the bass. I’m in the process of evaluating the effect of these cracks on the overall instrument, understanding it would be far better without the cracks - of course.

Understanding that I’m a complete noob at the electric bass and probably wouldn’t recognize the impact if it slapped me in the face, what do you think the effect would be on the instrument? Can’t hold in tune? Rattles? Bad string alignment? Something else, or all of the above?

Having this bass evaluated by a local shop isn’t cheap. Before I invest anything more in this instrument, I wanted to first evaluate it myself against a tuner (in the process of doing that) and otherwise see if there are other potential issues that you could foresee. I could then look for those problems more specifically on my own before investing anything more in the instrument.

BTW, the serial number can’t be determined, though a sticker does say “Made in Mexico.”

Thanks in advance for your thoughts on this issue!

6 Likes

Any chance of posting some pics of it, @Eupher ?

Perhaps it might be repairable after all.

Cheers, Joe

4 Likes

I don’t think I’m allowed to post any photos at this point – I’m too new. I can certainly take some photos and possibly link to Dropbox - I see the ability to post a link.

2 Likes