Do you set up your own bass(es)?

I’m asking because, although I’m new to the bass, I’m not new to DIY projects. I don’t mind having to buy a few tools that I don’t already have and I like the idea of learning to maintain and tweak my bass myself. Am I crazy?

4 Likes

I do and enjoy it.
I honestly can’t imaging not tweaking it through the humid/dry season changes, or paying for someone else to do it. The more you play, the more you will know when its not right, when the truss rod needs adjusting, etc.
And once you sort out how to do it (not hard) and learn how you like it set up (takes a little more time to sort), you will never pay anyone else to do it again.

There is really nothing you can do in setting up or string changes or climate tweaks that can ruin anything.

3 Likes

Thanks John, that really helps.

2 Likes

I do my own setups. It’s really not that difficult, and honestly, I think the music store guys don’t do it any better than I can do it myself (and I get to keep the $$ in my pocket.
I think you’ve find that most of the seasoned members here also do their own.

5 Likes

Thanks Pam, I appreciate your input.

3 Likes

the way the weather changes in Japan…absolutely I’m in there messing with it. Is it the same set up you’d get from a luthier…no, its probably not as good as you would get from decent mom and pop music store. That being said, I’m up and running, buzz free.

4 Likes

So the initial set up only lasts for so long? All the more reason to be doing it myself.

5 Likes

Yeah depending on where you live, for sure. I need to do one every ~6 weeks or so.

2 Likes

Yes, if you want the bass to consistently play the way you like it.
Could you go without a set up every 4-6 months, or earlier or longer, depending on where you live and how much you play, YES, you can.
But you will be constantly adjusting your plucking and fretting pressure, or be living with fret buzz.