Fav Comics + Graphic Novels?

I admit with much shame and disgrace that I didn’t get into comics/GNs (is that an abbreviation people use, or did I just invent it? :crazy_face: ) until recently.

I grew up reading these strange comics with all words and no pictures… I think they were called books.

Anyway, that all changed when I ran across Dune: The Graphic Novel at Hatchard’s in London last summer (oldest bookstore in the UK!) and thought OOH PRETTY.

Since then I’ve been trying to open my eyes more to the world of comics etc. I read Understand Comics by Scott McCloud which I really enjoyed, highly recommend if like me you’re new to comics and don’t totally * get * the form.

I tried Walking Dead Vol 1… felt a bit too much like a zombie soap opera for me.

I also possess a comic written by our own @Gio Benedetti, if y’all don’t know Gio is an amazing artist!

Anway, basically, I’m a total Noob Josh with this stuff. What should I start with? What are your favorites?

9 Likes

Huge Batman fan for many years!

Loved the entire Knightfall saga and later Contagion and No Man’s Land. Oh, and Hush was an excellent mini-saga too! Some of these things have made their way into the various films in the past decade or so. I still have a few boxes in my loft that I haven’t read in many years.

2 Likes

Graphic novels? The Babymetal Apocalypse! Just joking, though there is one.

In graphic novel adjacent, I do read some light novels, doing So I’m a Spider, So What? at the moment. Really just popcorn stuff, they really are light.

2 Likes

I had only gotten into a few offbeat ones.
My absolute favorite - The Tick - fantastic
I also read Spawn - was great then got meh
And of course, the KISS comic #1
But after that, never really read them.
If I did I would go straight to Batman I think though.

2 Likes

Frank Miller’s The Dark Knight is old but really good

5 Likes

I have read Watchmen Watchmen - Wikipedia
a number of times.

4 Likes