Half-Rounds?

Being new to bass, when I got my LTD B50 FM, the first thing I did was swap out the strings and get some new EB 50-105 (I think…they are in the green packaging) and while they are good for me as a beginner, I read some things that make me think I might like half-rounds or flats. I am learning more and more every day and think I am developing some “Likes”. I like the way the roundwounds sound but the extraneous noise can be annoying. I am working on my technique to try and stop the scrapes and chirps that I am generating from playing. I like rock, blues, slow rock, and never use a pick (yet). What are the pro’s and con’s? I know the flats should sound darker but will they have at least a little high end zing? Would tape wounds get me to the sound in my head? Or is half rounds the way to go. Please oh gurus of the lower end of Hell, enlighten me! The bass sound I hear in my head is similar to Bruce Hornsby “That’s just the Way it is”. How can I get close to this sound?

4 Likes

Hi @EddieJones, you will get (vastly) different opinions depending on who you ask (or who answers you), because - at the end of the day - it comes down to personal preferences and as such you need to experience different strings for yourself. That can be an “expensive hobby”, but you don’t need to do it all at once and switch strings like crazy. Actually, most strings need some time themselves to settle and “mature” and shouldn’t be judged when they are brand new…

There are, of course, some general aspects that we can all agree on, and to learn some of the main aspects of strings (materials, gauges, surfaces, tone, …) this page might be helpful:

https://www.sweetwater.com/insync/bass-guitar-string-buying-guide/