Have you done B2B and TalkingBass/Scott's?

Until Josh comes out with a follow-up, the best intermediate+ online courses I’ve been recommended are from TalkingBass. Has anyone tried these out/can give their thoughts? I like what I’ve seen from his YouTube, but there aren’t any previews of the courses, and there’s quite a few.
When I was a complete beginner I also tried Scott’s Bass Lessons, but got lost immediately. Maybe it’s better at a higher level?
Thanks

6 Likes

Hey, @Kal . . . Welcome to the Forums . . . :slight_smile:

Here’s a topic which has some discussions you may find interesting:

HTH and all best,
Joe

3 Likes

Thanks! I was actually looking for that forum but had some trouble finding it

2 Likes

The general consensus is that, yes, the courses at Talkingbass are the next logical step. Mark’s lessons are not quite as bite-sized as Josh’s, but that’s to be expected from an intermediate course.
Scott’s Bass Lessons is more of a buffet, and the lessons tend to be a bit chatty before you get to the desired content. There’s a lot of good stuff there, but it’s a choose-your-own-adventure sort of thing.

1 Like

There are lots of threads on the forum on which we discuss the merits (or lack thereof) of Mark and Scott.
I took the TalkingBass Scale Essentials course concurrently along with B2B. Once I had completed B2B, I took the Chord Essentials course, followed by the Walking Bass course, and then the Sight Reading course. I’m still finishing up part II of the Sight Reading course, which he just released recently. I’m also in the midst of the Ear Training course.
I think it’s apparent that I like Mark Smith and TalkingBass a lot. Mark is quite droll compared to the zaniness of Josh, but he’s IMO every bit as good an instructor, albeit in a more academic manner. His courses range from intermediate to advanced, and you can pick the ones that suit you.
I don’t care one bit for Scott Devine.

P.S. there’s a 30% off sale going on at TalkingBass.net right now.