Headphone Amp - Ashdown Tone Pocket

I pulled the trigger on the Bluetooth equipped Ashdown Tone Pocket weekend before last. As there’s been some interest in headphone amps of late, I thought I’d write a simple review. It is very simple; I’m new at the bass and I don’t have the technical knowledge that most of you do so please bear with.

It’s not the smallest of headphone amps when compared with the likes of the Mustang Micro, Vox, NUX Mighty, etc. Also, it does not plug directly into the bass; plug one end of the bass cable into the Tone Pocket and the other end into the bass as if it were a normal amp. Headphones are then plugged into the dedicated socket.

The difference between this model and the standard version is the, um, Bluetooth capability and for the extra £30 (US$ 36) it’s well worth it. I connect my iPad to the Tone Pocket via Bluetooth, which allows me to stream my BtB lessons and hear what I’m trying to play at the same time. Phones and tablets can be connected to the standard version but it means connecting via another cable which, to me, becomes a bit of a nuisance because there’s then potentially four cables connected to the box but more on that later.

There is some hiss coming through the headphones. It was most pronounced last night when on BtB Module 3 Lesson 2 Part 1, which is a tutorial of over 15 minutes and no playing bass. The hiss was mild and in the background. That sort of thing would normally annoy me but it doesn’t with the Tone Pocket. Now, keep in mind that it might well be my headphones (Bose QC 35 II), which are designed to be used wirelessly with Bluetooth. Alternatively, it could be my basses, the guitar cable or a combination of any two or all three. Muting all strings does knock the hiss down by 90%.

There is no noticeable hiss during playing bass.