Hofner Ignition Strap Issues

[I did a quick scan on the forum to see if this subject has been raised, and didn’t find it. Apologies if I missed it…]

Hey all, I’m a newbie but took Josh’s great BtBA late last year. Did that using a Squier J-Bass, which is a great entry level instrument. I recently also acquired a Hofner Ignition violin bass because a) I think the short scale is helpful for my late 50s left hand and b) I idolize Paul McCartney. The Ignition is the Hofner entry-level instrument, made in China but with Hofner oversight. It gets good reviews, especially considering it costs about 10% what the German-made Hofners do. I replaced the factory strings with LaBella flatwounds, which makes a PROFOUND difference in the instrument’s tone, and really does give you that McCartney sound. It is super lightweight and really fun to play. Yes, you need to learn the funky Hofner control board, but that’s part of the Hofner charm.

Anyway, my problem with the Ignition is the strap pegs. there is one on the body end, and another facing outward (toward you) at the top of the (hollow) body. These 2 locations make the guitar want to roll forward, so you have to brace it with your plucking hand to keep a slight upward angle. That interferes with play somewhat, and leads to hand fatigue. On German-made Hofners, the fretboard is actually raised over the body, like on a violin. You see guys like Sir Paul slip a leather strap through that gap and sometimes secure the other end around the tailpiece itself, which gives it the natural hanging position you want. The Ignition doesn’t have that fretboard gap, so I’m considering drilling a D-Ring location near the base of the neck. There is a bit of online discussion about this issue, but wondering if anyone here has encountered it and found a nifty solution (not real keen on drilling into the guitar…)

Cheers,
Tim

3 Likes

Hey, Tim . . . :slight_smile: