How Terrible has TalkBass Become?

What an absolute joke TalkBass has become… It feels like it is a daycare managed by disgruntled baby sitters… God forbid people want to debate ideas or even worse, disagree with each other… Unbelievable!! I am looking forward to BassBuzz as breath of fresh air…

9 Likes

Yeah, that place is a total mess, train wreck call it what you will.
Many years ago when I first signed up, posed a question, got relentlessly hammered by the “members” and subsequently asked a mod to remove any and all traces of me from that forum, it was granted and I’ve never looked back.
Bass Buzz forum is indeed a breath of fresh air.

5 Likes

Lots of creative regurgitation and shameless invention of informations and sour grapes syndrome makes for pretty volatile environment. I love getting advices for total noob there.

It is a disaster!! I am convinced the admins are the same fan-boys that end up ganging up on guys who dare to have an opinion or want to discuss certain topics, etc. They harass and threaten their own customers… Unbelievable!! I am happily banned!! :innocent:

2 Likes

I’ve always though talkbass was an absolute cesspit of ego and bad advice.

You’ll like it better here; our only real rules are “no politics, no religion”. People otherwise go wildly off topic at will :slight_smile:

7 Likes

I’ve never even signed up.
To be honest I really only look at the humour threads and if I am bored scan the first few posts in gig or gear threads.

1 Like

Same here. Pretty much stick to the Gig Disasters, Dad Band Names, and the like.

Every time I see someone ripping on TalkBass I keep thinking they mean TalkingBass and I get confused like “What the hell has Mark done?”.

6 Likes

The evolution I see on a lot of forums is:

1. Forum is started by someone with love
  2. Forum members share that love and the forum grows
  3. The forum really grows
  4. Forum is now too much to handle by the one person so they start adding moderators