...how to practice?

So, I’m sure this has been done in other threads, but I couldn’t find one. And this might be a really dumb question, but… how do you practice?

Not literally, like, how do YOU practice. But… what’s the, I dunno, regimen of practicing? I don’t actually know that.

I’m going through two different online courses, Bass Buzz (of course) and Fender Play. And I know I need to practice. But… I don’t know… what or how. I play my bass - A LOT - but it’s really just… noodling. There’s no sense of purpose (other than I love playing my bass and it makes me happy) or guidelines on what and how to practice.

I want to get better. I know I need to practice with a metronome. But is that just… turn on the metronome and noodle in time? Or should there be some structure to it? Scales, or exercises or whatever?

I know this sounds dumb. But I’m a software developer and when it comes to bass, I feel like I’m just sitting down and writing code that has no structure or purpose or anything, so it’s just long, rambling, “what in the HELL am I writing?” stuff.

So. Yeah, any help would be appreciated.

7 Likes

I don’t, I just play music. I do have a few technique points I could improve with some targeted practice but for probably two years now my practice has just consisted of working on songs.

5 Likes

I practice scales, but I’m a weirdo that likes scales. I improv a lot. I also do finger exercises to build dexterity. I find the same notes across the fretboard. I jam a lot to drum loops (I have an extensive library :sweat_smile: And sometimes make my own)

9 Likes

I do do this too. If there’s one thing I can do well, it’s program drum tracks :rofl:

5 Likes

Hey Tim, I guess there’s no one size fits all here. But after I completed B2B I took other courses with Mark Smith and recently Dan Hawkins. I like his relaxed style and here’s a great video that may give you some ideas on what to focus on for practice.