Is there any specific bass for tapping?

Hi. I am still new to bass. So please be gentle on me :slight_smile:
Some bass are specifically good for slapping, i.e Musicman Stingray.
I am wondering if there are any bass that are specifically good for tapping? I noticed on youtube many Dingwall bass players use it for tapping. Like these guys for example:

1. 【ayumu】Davie 504 Jam Solo - YouTube
  2. Dingwall Combustion NG3 - Demo by Nathan Navarro - YouTube

Is it true that there are basses like Dingwalls that made it easier for players to do tapping or to get a bass for tapping is a matter of configuration? Wdyt folks?

2 Likes

I think you’ll find action and space between strings are key points. My Ibanez Gio has a wider neck than my Squier Jaguar’s jazz neck, so I find tapping easier despite my Jag being set up with a lower action for slapping.

5 Likes

Thanks @chordsykat . I didn’t think that space between strings is one of the consideration. For tapping, should I find a bass that has closer string gap OR further ? Your Ibanez Gio, what is the gap between the strings?

2 Likes

I have also wondered this. Haven’t found the formula. Seems easier on active basses or hotter pickups but could be wrong.

2 Likes

I don’t slap yet, but every review I have seen of the ESP GB 4 says its a slap monster. It has a push/pull volume knob that has an EQ preset specifically for slap

1 Like

I think Seymour Duncan produce an EQ/preamp with this feature too?

In fact the GB 4 has the Seymour Duncan STC 3M3 preamp and a set of Duncan pickups, so, yup

1 Like

Ah I see :crazy_face:
I’ve got that preamp in my 5 string but as I suck at slap I don’t see any difference

1 Like