Just picked up a new bass ( that I don’t need)

Right. So I’m a bonafide noob who can barely play a 4-string. So do I need another bass? A 5-string bass? Of course I do!!

I snagged a very sexy Schecter Hellraiser Extreme 5! Got it from a friend of a friend for a great price. Wow this thing is beyond me. But, it gives me inspiration to keep learning and playing. I’ll post pics when it comes back from the shop (getting a set-up).

18 Likes

JUST PICKED UP A NEW BASS ( THAT I DON’T NEED)

You’ll fit right in. :wink:

20 Likes

Amen to that!

11 Likes

I have a similar model Schecter 5 string. I too don’t pick it up much either, only because I am still getting the 4 string down. But it is fun, and talk about LOW END…BEAD bass thumps.

7 Likes

Nice :blush:
5-string is on my wishlist as well :heart_eyes:

6 Likes

That’s something I’ve read often about the 5-string. Not in a sense of “Urgh, why did I get it?” but rather “It’s nice but overall I want to get the 4 strings down first.”

I hope I don’t get G.A.S.'d into a 5 string by this community. At least for a while :smiley:

7 Likes

In my case, owning a 5 string convinced me that I didn’t want a 5 string. So now I own two 4 strings.

10 Likes

Well, the 5-strings have that Metal aura that seems to shine from afar. The moment I feel confident enough and want to cover metal songs, I will have to take the leap and learn to play one :metal::sunglasses::metal:

9 Likes

Absolutely!

Why??
I understand where the notion “I need to get the 4-string down first before I can play a 5-string” comes from, but it is wrong. There’s nothing you can do or learn on a 4-string that you can’t do or learn on a 5-string. (In the end, it could be a matter of personal preference, like what @howard describes).

The problem with 5-strings arises if you never play them and only pick them up every blue moon or so. Play it as often as your 4-string, and pretty soon, you feel no “added challenge” from that extra string.