Knobs..... tone/volume knobs on my bass

I’m a beginner and just learning to play but one of my pet peeves is unmarked knobs. I think it would be helpful to be able to glance down and see exactly where my settings are at.
Is my only solution to replace the factory knobs?

2 Likes

Or just mark them by drawing a short line on top of the knob?

2 Likes

That did cross my mind, but they are smooth chrome… didn’t think it would last very long.

2 Likes

If you can’t or don’t want to mark your knobs in any way, replacing them is pretty much your only option. Fortunately, it’s easy and relatively cheap.

4 Likes

I used a label maker to make triangle labels, and stuck them to my knobs as a temporary option.

3 Likes

A small round sticker might do the trick too. :smile:

3 Likes

A trip to Hobby Lobby may be in my future. :nauseated_face:

2 Likes

Nail polish would last a while and you get a large selection of colours.

3 Likes

Yea drill a small hole and raid your wife’s nail polishes!

2 Likes

Soon you won’t care about them. As you expand your gears like amps, preamps and pedals they are all have volume and / or gain control.

I usually turn it full up and back off about a quarter for emergency only, lol. The rest are controlled by another devices.

4 Likes

Or 50+ basses :relieved:

2 Likes

Oh! Well, I have no comeback for that :joy:

3 Likes

Just put a strip of colored tape on there.

I do think this is an issue that will go away over time. You will get to the point that it sounds right and you won’t care what the setting is. I don’t hardly touch tone anymore. I love the MDB5, which has the tone knob on the control play cover on the back (it’s flat and you need a screwdriver). I have balance and volume on the front, really what I need. The tone is dialed in

1 Like

it never even occurred to me to be bothered by this

1 Like