Left hand position, noob

Hi, I just started playing a couple weeks ago and have purchased the whole course. I have played piano, violin, and still play drums. Even though I am able to already (slowly) play the chromatic scales exercise in one of your videos, I am getting quite frustrated. I just can’t seem to figure out what position to keep my left hand in. It seems to be the most comfortable with my left thumb pointing at the tuning pegs, but your videos say this is wrong (right?). I thought there would be a much more specific and explicit explanation and demonstration early on in the course but I am almost up to the Running with the Devil lesson and I still am not sure how to hold my left hand, especially without my wrist bending at crazy angles. Help! Thx

2 Likes

Welcome to the forum and get choice getting B2B. Have you re-watched Module 1, Lesson 4. The first 4 minutes give a good explanation and demonstration of fretting hand position.

There is no one fixed position and you’ll make adjustments as you move up and down the neck.

One thing that I don’t think is mentioned is the position of your elbow. Practice moving your elbow further forward or backward as this makes a big difference to the resulting angle of your wrist. How close you hold your arm can also impact as well as your overall position of the bass (eg high, low, with/without a strap). A lot of it comes down to personal preference.

After you’ve played around with the above, feel free to post some photos (ideally someone will take them for you).

2 Likes

Hi there!

Comfortable is good! For now, all you want to do is build a foundation. @iDuncan has said it well:

You can also try commenting under the lesson videos, that’s where I got a few replies from @JoshFossgreen, as it’s lesson specific.

Feel free to Introduce Yourself! (2024), too.

Cheers,
Antonio

2 Likes

Got pictures or video?