Looking for advice on my next bass

Hello fellow bass family! I’m kinda new here but I’m starting my 36th lesson (6th week) with Josh and he is by far the best instructor I have ever experienced. I could talk for days about how much I love his course and his style (so fun to learn from), but let’s get to the point of this post.
I’m just learning bass after 30 years of drumming and already own a Schecter Stiletto extreme 4 & an Ibanez SR300e. I enjoy them both but esthetics are as important to me as tone, playability and I’m not in love with either of them.
I have a budget of about $700-$800 and the only “criteria” I have is, I hate headstocks that don’t match the body or are at least painted. Probably limiting myself by being a picky rookie, but for now I just don’t like that. I’m not educated enough in “bass-ics” to be loyal to any brand, so please let me know what you think are the best basses in this price range. Yes, I realize this is very subjective. Like all of you, I want to make an educated purchase.
Oh…and I prefer 4 string. I’m a newbie. :grinning_face_with_smiling_eyes:
Thanks guys!!

6 Likes

Have you considered a custom paint job or vinyl wrap? You could get EXACTLY what you want for that price range and you wouldn’t be restricted to what a manufacturer offers.

4 Likes

Tons of amazing basses in that price range. I’m biased but I would recommend checking out the Yamaha BB734A and the Yamaha TRBX604.

If you want a classic P/J, for the money it’s going to be really hard to beat a BB734A; it easily outclasses basses double its price (or more).

The TRBX is more modern, lighter, double-humbucker. Very bright tone.

I love them both about equally. Very different basses.

4 Likes

emme,
Very good idea but I don’t “love” the body shape of the Schecter Stiletto and the Ibanez (in my opinion) doesn’t sound and play as good as the Schecter. Although I do like the body shape of the Ibanez. Thank You

2 Likes