New guitar set-up for complete beginner

bass1

Ok- It’s here. The UPS guy just dropped it off. My new Yamaha rbxy 170 coffee sunburst bass. The only instrument I’ve ever played in my life is the kazoo- and that was 45 years ago. Now what? Do I take it somewhere to get properly “set up” (whatever that means). I don’t own an amp yet, so it’s just me and my bass and my wife shaking her head. Can I do excersises? Something to get me going? Total beginner. Thank you!

3 Likes

I would say that since you’ve never set one up before and that you don’t have an amp to play through yet that it would be wise to take it to a local music store and have it set up for you. While there you can take a little time looking at amplifiers and checking them out.

1 Like

are you sure @Lanny ? don’t you believe the instrument is very probably correctly set up ? I did not say it’s perfect but, as a factory Yamaha instrument, it should be really playable ?

3 Likes

A pro set up certainly its very useful, and depending on the stock action the bass was set up with. It could be extremely useful, or potentially a waste.

The first thing I’d do is watch and try and play through all of Josh’s free videos on YouTube. Then if your enjoying it, buy the full program. (You can send that commission check anytime @JoshFossgreen) :crazy_face: But for real, the program is fantastic.