NOOB QUESTION(s) - Daily Storage of Your Basses

Ok, most of you know I am a noob, but I feel safe here with the @bassbuzz family.

So, my questions are…

How do you store your bass(es) if you are playing them on a regular basis?

Do you put it back in the hard-shell case?

Do you put in on a stand?

I have the hard-shell case that my bass came in, but I also bought a two guitar Hercules stand (before I asked this question). I just want to do right by my bass. Thanks in advance!!

3 Likes

It may not be the “right” thing to do but since the environmental conditions stay pretty constant in my house, I just leave mine on a stand. Ready to pick up and play.

7 Likes

Thanks. Yeah, I wonder with the humidity. I will see what everyone says, do some google searches and then decide. I wanted it close for playability (thus the stand purchase) but if it is better keeping it in more of a climate friendly environment in the case, I will do that.

5 Likes

Environmental changes really don’t hurt them unless the changes are extreme. At the worst, I just have to tune a bit before I play. If your going to store them for a long time then de-tune them a bit.

6 Likes

I second @Gorch‘s reply. I would however emphasize that if there may be a chance that any of your instruments could be knocked over, then you might consider wall hangers - I use both since I typically play my bass’s more than my acoustic or electric guitars, my bass’s are on stands, and my 6 strings are on the wall.

If I ever do put any of my instruments inside of a case for either transport or long time storage, I do loosen all of the strings…

Good Luck, Have Fun, and
Keep on Thumpin’!
Lanny

6 Likes

Thanks @Lanny. We are in a rental situation now (while working in NY) but when we eventually move back to our home state (TEXAS) and buy another house, I will hang them on the wall for all to see. :smiley:

5 Likes

I have a hard shell case for each of my basses if I want to transport or store them, @JDDaniel