Playing in a Church

Does anyone play in a church? How did you get the gig? Do you have to be good at reading/learning new songs on the fly or can you work on them at home? It’s something I’d like to do, but don’t think I’m good enough yet. Just wanted to get some feedback from anyone who has done it. Thanks!

6 Likes

I’ve played at my churches for about 5 years now. My first church closed but when I found a new church I started playing there. At both churches I simply volunteered to play on the worship team and then attended a few practices so that they knew I could actually play. At my first church I’d get the song set on Wednesday or Thursday and would then find chord charts and YouTube videos to practice with. At the one I’m at now we get the set on Tuesday or Wednesday and it includes chord charters and song tracks, which makes it easy to practice.

7 Likes

I’ve played in several churches, and happy to share my experiences:

In one instance, where the entire team was volunteer, I knew the team running the music and they knew that I played bass. When they needed a bassist, they asked me to join.
In another instance, where the entire team was professional, I was called by a musician friend I had met doing studio work and other gigs in the area, and was brought in on rotation for one Sunday per month.

This completely depends on the team you’re working with, the worship leader, and the amount of experience they expect their players to have / rehearsal time together that they schedule.
In the all-volunteer band, there was a 2 hour rehearsal scheduled each week. It was difficult to get people to commit and show up consistently. There was also a brief time before the service to run through things - maybe an additional 30 minutes.
In the all-professional band there was a 1.5 hour rehearsal scheduled immediately before the service.

You would have the music to listen to and practice for at least 5 days before the service, so there is some at-home practice time.