Simplifying the bass education minefield

Whether you were a total beginner, a returning bassist or a guitarist transitioning to a proper instrument just about everyone on this forum is either currently working through Josh’s course or has completed it and it occurs to me that as Josh’s course only covers beginner to (almost) intermediate, most of us are looking for the next level to take our education further but what a minefield it is. I’ve wasted money on some (ahem, did someone whisper Truefire) and found pure gold with others (thank you Mark at Talking Bass) but in between those two extremes there are so many courses out there it’s difficult to sort the wheat from the chaff. off the top of my head there is:

Talking Bass
Truefire
Low End University
Bass Education
Luke, Become a Bassist
James Eager EBassGuitar
Joe Hubbard
Lorin Cohen

That’s just a few off the top of my head, there are probably dozens more. Some I’m tempted by - James Eager’s current 90 day Blues Accelerator Course for Bass is tempting but you can end up going down a rabbit hole and becoming a bass education collector instead of a bassist.

So what can we do?

This is just a germ of an idea and I don’t know how it would work but I’m thinking we could have a dedicated thread listing all the courses we currently know about and somehow classify them. I know it would be subjective but if 2 or 3 people commented on each course we might get some sort of balance of opinion. The sort of things we might want to highlight would be Course objectives (i.e. is it a general course for beginner, intermediate or advanced or does it learn toward Jazz, blues etc). Strengths & Weaknesses of the course. Price with value for money etc

Don’t know whether it’s practical. I’m trying to work it out as I type.

Maybe it’s not even worth doing?

Thoughts?

8 Likes

:rofl:

6 Likes