So what do you do for a living?

I have been a Registered Respiratory Therapist for 20 years. It was a pretty good gig and I got to help save a lot of people over the years. We put people on and off of life support ventilators. It was great to know you saved someone’s life but there was plenty of death, dying, and human tragedy.

I kept all of that compartmentalized in my mind just to deal with the stress of the job, but the older I got the less I wanted to be around all the life or death human tragedy.

I’m now retired and I have to say I’m happy to be away from it all.

For my next job I plan on being a multi Grammy winning bassist by… say… next year. Hey I’m working my way to badass. It could happen.

29 Likes

Software Engineer (or more specifically the last few years, Engineering Lead; a term we use to not have to call ourselves managers.)

24 Likes

That must be an interesting job. After I retired I thought about getting into that field but I just couldn’t justify getting into that much student debt at my age.

How long have you been in that field?

9 Likes

Far too long :rofl:

I started getting paid for it/had the title/etc in the early '90s, but I had been doing it for long before that though.

8 Likes

Since the early 80s I have been in IT. Developer/Systems Programmer/Network Engineer/Development Manager/Project Manager. Right now the senior project lead in a hospital working mostly with clinical systems, labs, cancer center, sleep center, and so on. Keeps me busy

I have worked for the biggest corporation in the world, but happier in a regional medical center

17 Likes

So wombat and Howard… you guys have a similar background it sounds like. I guess with technology being as prevalent as it is these days you guys stay real busy.

I’m impressed!

8 Likes

I’m about to come out of retirement soon. We are signing the new lease between the first week of July or the middle of the month. I cook for a living, lol.

22 Likes