Songs you wish you could play?

Hey guys, sorry if this thread has already been made, but I was curious what songs make your bass “bucket list”. There’s a handful of songs that I desperately want to learn but I am not quite skilled enough yet to play. These are songs I come back to from time to time just to see if they’re any easier (they aren’t). It keeps me motivated to learn when I run into something that makes me feel like a total beginner again. I’ll share a few of mine - all of these I have tried and failed and tried and failed and….etc.

First on the list, and maybe one that will take me many years to learn

Primus - John The Fisherman

https://youtu.be/lkFMJ4-ai1I

This is my favorite Primus song. I can’t for the life of me find the technique on the strumming bits of this one.

Stone Temple Pilots - Trippin’ On A Hole In A Paper Heart

https://youtu.be/HVPzWkdhwrw

This bass line is very fast and just relentless the whole way through. Robert DeLeo is an amazing bassist and I don’t hear him talked about much. Playing this line tires out my hands almost immediately. The rests here are like a 32nd note, can’t figure out how to play this at all.

XTC - Rocket From A Bottle

https://youtu.be/mDtVWyxCMAU

Another relentless bass line here from Colin Moulding. I have covered a couple XTC songs and neither of them were half as hard to play as this one. My fretting hand gives up after about 45 seconds. For a five note riff, this one sure is a pain in the forearm to play

6 Likes

Definitely top of the list is Donna Lee.

It’s beyond my comprehension atm. I read the sheet music and took a few jabs at it but I just don’t get it. Hopefully when I grow up I’ll appreciate it and learn to play it properly., but for now I’ll settle this version of a TV jingle, lol.

https://youtu.be/wBvGBdHBV7s

3 Likes

Mine would be Wedding Singer by Modern Baseball. Been playing for a year, but have only recently been playing with a pick. Punk is just difficult for me to get a handle on.