Syncing actual songs with Ultimate Guitar

Is there a way to sync the YouTube video link within the UG tab so that as the video plays, the tabs follow with the video? It doesn’t actually need to be the video, but just the music/actual song. I’m trying to follow along and play with the actual song, but I’d like the tab to scroll through so I can see where I am. Any suggestions? Thanks

1 Like

I am not aware of a way to do that in Ultimate Guitar, but Songsterr does have that functionality (with paid subscription). The syncing isn’t always perfect, but usually pretty close.

3 Likes

I have a Songsterr subscription. It allows you to loop certain sections.

However I think the free version will give you the chords and the ‘bouncing ball’ to follow.

1 Like

Not a feature I have found on UG. And believe me, synching the tab and a seperate playback is no easy task, everytime I have tried despite my best efforts they fall out of sync pretty fast.

Best way I have found is to play with the backing tracks on UG until you have strong grasp on the song, then just play with the song without the tab. Good old brute force memorization. Even then, first time you try might be a wreck (mine was).

Or, there are a lot of Youtube covers that already have tab scrollign with the songs. Not ideal since you will have the bass fromt he video along with your playing, but still helpful if you want the full song experience.

There’s software and such that can asssit with dropping those basslines out of the mix, but that is beyond my tech skills.

2 Likes

I love Songster for this. You can loop sections, slow it down, and even mute individual instruments from the you tube video. For $10 a month it’s definitely worth it.

4 Likes