The downside of recording with passive bass to audio interface

I am not sure if this is one of the downside of passive bass. Feel free to correct me on this one since I am still learning.

With passive bass, I can not really control the EQ directly from the bass so I have to rely on the eq of my bass amp. So if I want to record directly to my DAW through low budget audio interface (i.e Presonus Studio 24c | Focusrite i22), I lose certain sound since the audio interface can not control the EQ. If I want to play around on certain frequencies, I have to do it in post from my DAW.

With active bass, even though I can not control the EQ from the audio interface, I can control the EQ from the bass directly.

The workaround for the passive bass is to connect it to the amp - put a mic in front of the amp - connect the mic to the audio interface. With active bass, I can still get the sound that I want from the bass directly to the audio interface without mic-ing my amp??
I guess that is why there are still some bassist who put a mic in front of their amp rather than connecting their bass straight to audio interface?

Am I missing anything here? Feel free to correct me (or even bash me on this one). I am open to learn.

2 Likes

@jpartogi , external preamps and preamp DIs are your bosom friends.

4 Likes

No bashing, this is a legit questionā€¦

I play passive basses also and record just fine. I use a preamp (VTBass DI) between my bass and DAI. My amp is out of the loop as far as recording goes, and is really just a monitor. I do all the coloring on the preamp and it records just fine.

5 Likes

Ah. I think I get you. I can put a preamp that goes in between my passive bass and the audio interface? Now I control the EQ from that preamp right? That way I can kind of get active bass sound?

5 Likes

Exactly!!

3 Likes

Thanks @PamPurrs .

3 Likes

Youā€™re welcomeā€¦

I highly recommend this, but there are others as well. Please do your research.

4 Likes