Thomastik-Infeld

I have a set of TI jazz flats on my Jazz bass. Best flats I have played. Admittedly, I am a beginner and have only played Fender Flats, D’addario Chrome Flats, EB Cobalt Flats and the TI’s. None are bad but the TI’s are wonderful. They sound awesome and have mellowed into sonic nirvana. Notes are smooth, not spikey, and the tension is low. I love them on that bass. So, I bought some Jazz rounds for the Ray34. I thought flats were the bomb, but these Jazz Rounds are the absolute best string I have played on anything. Super low tension so I had to adjust the bass for them. But once I did that, they are simply perfect. Easy to play, barely any string noise and they sound sublime, almost orgasmic. My Ray with those strings is all I play now. I am thinking of getting those strings for my Ibby, to give it a chance and also on my LTD. They even sound okay for slap bass, even though I suck at it.

8 Likes

The TI flats were the first I tried and I love them to this day. I got them at a reduced price which was a bonus as they are pricey but I can say I will definitely buy another set of them

3 Likes

The flats will be on my Jazz bass as Long as I have it. However, the rounds blew me away. They sound so good and play so easily. I have the action really low and you could almost blow on the strings and they will fret a note. I am amazed by them every time I play the Ray34.

3 Likes

Good to know, about the TI Jazz Rounds, Eddie. I only play rounds. Gotta get me a set.

3 Likes

They are pricey, but good Lord do they sound and play awesomely. And they are supposed to last for years getting better over time.

3 Likes

Yep, they are proud of those puppies! At $75+, they better last a good, long time and bring me a beer on a regular basis. :rofl: :beer::beer::beer::beer::beer::beer::beer::beer::beer::beer::beer:

4 Likes

if they are anywhere near as overpriced as the flats i don’t see how many people could make them their usual roundwound.

1 Like