Total newbie question about the E string

Hello, I’m so new it’s not funny. I have a dumb question. It’s about my bass guitar that I’ve only owned since July 7. When I play an open E it sounds fine, when I put my finger on the first fret which is an F(?) it sounds fine, but when I place my finger on the third fret sometimes the string will make a buzzing noise like it’s metal on metal, it’s kind of hard to describe. The guitar is in tune with a Snark I bought which is a cool device. I think but I may be wrong, that I may not be holding down the string tight enough against the fret? Because if I apply a heck of a lot of pressure it doesn’t do that. Anyway, this has to be the most difficult thing I’ve ever done. I have no idea how ya’ll get your fret fingers to cooperate or even know where to place them. Thanks and take care.

4 Likes

You may fretting it too far from the fret. Your finger needs to be right up on the fret without being on the fret. I seriously doubt you aren’t fretting hard enough. It is amazing how little force is needed to sound a clear note once you get your finger position right. It also may be that you have too low action or a fret that is slightly high. I would try different finger positions first though because that sounds like what you are experiencing.

6 Likes

The close your finger is to the fret wire when you fret, the better. It actually shouldn’t take a lot of pressure. If your finger is just behind the wire and you still get buzzing, you will need a setup. All basses need setups from time to time.

3 Likes

Thanks Wombat, but, um, what is a “setup?”

2 Likes

Set up is setting string height for action, string length for intonation, and neck curve. Neck curve is set by adjusting the truss rod. Typically this is an Allen screw located in the headstock or the body end of the neck (dependent on what flavor of bass you have.)