Unwanted fretting noises

Hi, I’m new to playing bass. I got a cheap bass bundle from Amazon and started learning to play last month. It seems like no matter how lightly I try to play, I end up getting some clacking sounds coming through the amp from the strings hitting the frets, and sometimes sounds that are like a quiet accidental hammer on/pull off type thing. When I watch Josh’s videos or others, it’s like they play so fast and perfectly with no other noise coming through at all. I feel very discouraged and wondering why I can’t get these sounds to go away. I’m not pressing down really hard or anything. It’s not like really loud but enough to be noticeable. Anyone have any tips?

6 Likes

Perform a setup, it’s easy (follow all four steps in order. Don’t touch the nut though!)

2 Likes

Hi @Merbear528, welcome to the forums! Don’t worry, you are not alone. See also this very recent thread:

1 Like

at one month in this is the least of your worries :smile:

but ok.
setup is a good tip, your action may be too high.

you are probably playing too hard, even though you are trying not too. this is a thing for i would guess every beginner on earth, and to some degree is an experience thing that tends to fix itself in time.

although you have much more important things to concentrate on pay some attention to flying fingers, both when fretting and releasing a note. see josh’s vid if you haven’t already.

also understand that to some degree what is audible to you with your head a few feet from the fretboard is less audible to someone listening even a few feet away.

lastly, DON’T GET DISCOURAGED! seriously, if at one month you are worried about the purity of the notes than you are waaayyy ahead of schedule. you are a beginner, give yourself credit. i have found a lot of problems just naturally fix themselves over time and you can’t even explain how it happened. that is muscle memory and experience which takes time.

1 Like