Victor Wooten Must Watch Video

Watch this and listen to what Victor says in it. Mind blown. Trust me. Watch the whole thing. Only 15 min.

21 Likes

Wow! Incredible. This is a must watch. Thanks for the share.

4 Likes

Wow, awesome! Thanks for sharing. I’ve heard Victor say most of that stuff elsewhere but this was a nicely packaged interview!

4 Likes

“The coolest Notes are the WRONG notes”… damn that got my attention. Being an engineer I tend to be very logical and methodic, in my work, in my life, in playing… and what Victor said smacked me upside the head. Sometimes wrong is RIGHT…given the right context and feeling!

6 Likes

as Miles davis used to say : don’t be scared with wrong notes, that doesn’t exist

1 Like

Josh, I wanna hear you play with Victor, put both of you guys’ shapes in some everyday’s special funk box (I’m trying hard to follow). Cheers :smile:

2 Likes

I wanna hear me play with Victor too! I’ve had the chance informally here and there, but nothing recording unfortunately. Hopefully I’ll go to one of his camps again next summer assuming they happen!

3 Likes

The bass face activation at the start of the wrong note segment

3 Likes

This was astounding, thank you for sharing this. I am finding more and more admiration for this man with each new video I see.

2 Likes

Wait! What? Can we have more of this story?

1 Like

This video is worth a watch also. From about 3:50 on is insane.

1 Like

Ha yeah sure:

The first time I really met Victor (not just fanboying after a show) was at a nature/music camp in 2008 called “Earth School.” Kinda like Vic’s camps, but more nature focused, led by his friend Richard Cleveland.

Anyway, I was 17 or so at time, and was pretty thrilled to be at this little camp of about eleven or twelve campers, two of them being Victor Wooten and Chuck freaking Rainey.