What fingering would you use here

What fingering would you use in the 2nd bar?
If I use index and pinky then then transition into the 3rd bar is awkward (index on D3 to index on A3).
If I use middle and pinky then the transition from the 1st bar is awkward (pinky on E5 to middle on D3).

3 Likes

If I were playing it I would play the first bar of (A) notes with my pinky then transfer to my index for the second bar using my pinky again on the 5th fret and transitioning back to the index for the next bar if that makes sense You can leave the index barred across the 3rd fret on the A and D string for an easier transition using this method only moves the pinky across the strings

3 Likes

Yeah that’s my plan C and would be ideal, but that’s even more difficult than the other two. I’m not very good at finger rolling (especially on the lower strings).

3 Likes

Keep at it you can get it I am sure of it. Just might take a little time to master that finger roll

3 Likes

I would play with pinky and index (just did). when changing from the D string to the A string, I would use the rolling finger technique or a microshift to the middle finger

5 Likes

You mean index on D3 to middle on A3? Is that even legal?

4 Likes

I hesitate to give you my bad habit, but this works for me on Come Down by Bush on that riff that goes quickly from a B to an F sharp - this has a similar vibe. I’m not a very good finger roller and I try not to bar strings of I don’t have to.

For the first transition into the second bar, totally agree with @LesterH

When I go from the F to the G and back to the F on the second bar, I’d grab that last F with my middle finger and then land on the first C on the third bar with my index finger. Then I’m ready for whatever is next.

It fits me and allows me to keep my muting in tact. Also, for what it’s worth, I’ll always “climb over” my middle finger with my index when I move strings like that - doesn’t matter the direction.

Again, your mileage may vary…