What is it about the p-bass?

Now I’ll be the first to admit that I’m new to the bass and am hungry to learn not only how to play it but about the instrument too, but there’s one thing that’s been bugging me.
What is it about the p-bass that so many people like?
It’s available from £80 cheapy to £2k+ bonkers money but it seems to me that there’s nothing stand out-ish about them to make them so popular.
I appreciate that many old rock stars played them, but back then it seems that it was the go-to instrument- I can’t imagine that there was the variety about that there is today.

So, please educate me. I have a p-bass which plays very well, but I can’t see what the appeal is, especially at the higher end of the market. Not looking for an argument, but I just don’t get it and I need the fine people on this forum to enlighten me.

4 Likes

I think the main reason is that it’s so recognizable. Because it was pretty much the only option for a long time, people have gotten used to the P bass sound. Being creatures of habit, people tend to like what they already know.

Personally, I also like its simplicity. Just a volume knob and a tone knob. No bells and/or whistles.

8 Likes

I think that there must be an aspect of that. It does surpise me how similar most basses sound to each other. I messed around with guitars about 30 years ago and the difference in sound from one to another was incredible. You don’t seem to get that much with a bass, which is a shame.

1 Like

That’s not an accurate statement of the situation. There are many differences in how various bass configurations sound. Pickups contribute most to the equation, but so do onboard preamps, when equipped on basses. Different shaped/sized neck profiles also affect how the bass makes you play, which can also affect how you approach it and how it can sound.

There are signature sounds to classic basses, such as the Precision, Jazz bass, Rickenbacker, Hofner, StingRay, etc., etc., etc.