What music genre benefit from additional lower-B string?

Hi peeps. This might be a broad and generic question. So please bear with me as I am very new in the realm of bass.
From what I have learnt that most people who have a 5-string bass added a lower-B string. If I have a 5-string bass, I personally would like to have a higher-C string instead so that I have more strings to pop. I tried slapping a lower-B string at a local music store here and it doesn’t feel as good as slapping an E-string. I am curious tho, what music genre or in general in what case will benefit you having that lower B string? Thanks for your insights folks.

4 Likes

The two genres that use it the most are really quite different. Metal and modern country.

You may prefer more melodic, and the original Fender V, the first 5 string bass, was EADGC.

A B string can be quite floppy. My 6 string has a 35" scale length to get better tension on the B string, but multi fret basses like the Dingwall have a separate scale length for each string. The B scale length on a Dingwall is 37", and the G around 34".

Also you can try smaller gauge strings, instead of 130 or 135 on a B string, you can get the B as low as 120 gauge, which will have more tension and more likely to slap. But EADGC is a perfectly good tuning for a bass.

5 Likes

Actually tension goes up with diameter. So, .135 is a lot less floppy than .120.

4 Likes

Thanks @Wombat-metal . Lots of insights there. I searched on the net that Ibanez also has a fan fret bass where the the lowest string is a 35" scale. It’s hard to try out Dingwall here as there aren’t many music store who has it in stock.
Thanks for the tip on looking at the string gauge. And good to hear that EADGC is not a weird tuning for a 5-string bass.

2 Likes

Thanks, I stand corrected

4 Likes

Another nice thing about the low B string is when you are fretting notes on it other than the open string, it gives them a nice deep timbre.