Which one?

hi all , what are your thoughts here …
an Ibanez SR300B OR a Yamaha TRBX304 ?
im a newb and ive seen josh’s shoot out and the TR came out sort of joint 1st so i know its a great starter / intermediate bass and the Ibanez is very similar looking etc so which would you have and why ?
im looking for a bass i can stick with for a good while and both those have come up close by me for what i see is good low money both at £200 . both are obviously used so what worries should i look for in both ?
thanks all have a great day

4 Likes

Hi @RichBass72, welcome to the forums! You’re in luck: Josh reviewed these exact two basses in a direct comparison video about a year ago:

Technically, it’s about the SR300E and not the SR300B, but the differences (if any) are probably negligible.

Personally, having owned a TRBX304 in the past, I wouldn’t recommend it. It’s a great bass, but I didn’t like the “performance switch”. Probably better off with a three-band EQ, which I think the Ibanez has.

4 Likes

I have never even heard of a SR300B, just a SR300 and a SR300E. The 300E is much better than the 300.

Having owned one though I would go with the TRBX there :slight_smile:

6 Likes

looks like either will be good then , going off to hve looksie at my local shop now :wink:

6 Likes

Have never owned either of them, but played both in a music shop. I preferred the Ibanez. The performance switch on the Yamaha was frustrating (a thought echoed in Josh’s above linked video comparing the two). I found both to be playable and enjoyable, but the pickup notch in the Yamaha I could not live with. Felt too strange. So, if my arm were being twisted, I would choose the Ibanez.

4 Likes

I would probably go with the Ibanez. I have one and while I don’t like it, it isn’t because anything is wrong with it. I just don’t like the thin neck because I have fat, sausage fingers that get crowded while playing it. It looks good, sounds good and has a very adjustable pre-amp.

4 Likes