Why I prefer a short scale Bass

Why I prefer a short scale Bass and when I decided to learn Bass, I pick a short scale because I am a guitarist (Fender Stratocaster) since 45 Years and I find the scale similar to my guitar, same size and same confort, see picture. I pick a Squier mini precision Bass and I update the pickup for a Wilkinson P Bass Alnico 5 Wilkinson M Series WOPB after trying a Fender Original and a Fender 62/63, because they sound identical and the cost is lower, around $40CAD, probably $30 US.
After trying different brand of strings, my conclusion was , for me the best sounding strings was D’addario EXL 170 S,
And now I am happy, really happy.
And yes I tried a long scale Bass, I had a Aria P J Bass for years and I never really like the feeling
of a long scale, spacing of the frets and the weight.
I find the Bass tone real with those kind of strings and now I play my new toy all the time and I enjoy it!
I always like Squier product, for the quality and the price, most of the time you just need to change the Pickups for having a decent sound for a low price instrument.
You can tell me what you have and why!
Mike

P.s I just notice my saddles on the Bass, I already adjust it since I took the picture, sorry.

12 Likes

I love short scale I also love 35” xtra long scale. Sometimes you just want to feel a little flop on the strings short scale is great for that. It also sound extra deep as well.

Extra long scale is also fun tight sounding B string is so rewarding though your body needs a few minutes to recalibrate from standard to extra long but going back is no problem.

I’ve commissioned a short scale multi scale Neckthrough. It should be done soon.

3 Likes

Those mini-P are kinda cool. Even if a P has to be a 34" scale to be a P, but yeah … still a nice little bass :slight_smile: and yes, the current Squier range is really cool.