Why is first fret so difficult?!

ok, total noob here. Just got my bass. Moving thru the lessons. I’m struggling on what I think is finger strength for the first fret. I rattle on all 4 strings on the first fret (still trying to figure out the problem with my A string but that’s another thread). I just can’t seem to press it down hard enough to get a good sound. What exercises can I do to increase my finger strength to fret correctly? I know it’s going to take time, but anything I can do to start working out the digits would be awesome!

5 Likes

First fret is generally harder because it’s right by the nut. There’s a few things that can make this worse.

• Your bass probably needs a setup. There’s a big thread on this:

You can pay a shop to do this for you, but it’s also easy to do yourself and a great skill to have. It soesn’t require any special tools. Here’s an excellent video:

• The nut might be too high. This is actually common and would be the first thing I would check after getting the action set up, if it still felt hard. It’s not hard to fix but trickier than a normal setup. You’ll probably want a shop to look at this. If you get a regular setup and there’s still a problem, this is easy to check - let us know if you still have a problem then.
8 Likes

Yes to everything @howard said.

The first fret will always require a little more force since the string tension is more at either end of the string than in the middle. The same as plucking closer to the bride than the neck.

It should still be doable though. Which, I think, is the main reason @howard went straight for the setup and nut height recommendation.

There are all kinds of finger strengthening things on the market but I’ve never seen any consistency in reports of how well they function. One person might say this tool is the best and then someone else will say no it’s irrelevant because the tool put your fingers in a position that is different than how they would be on the fretboard.