Combo AMP for Band Pratice and Small Venues?

I’m fairly new to playing, however I been playing with some friends for the last 6 months. Our Practice space is a basement and we’re talking about doing some small gigs in the summer. Patios, Bars, Etc… I’m currently playing through a older 100 Watt Peavy. I’m most being drowned out by the drums and guitar tube amps in the room. Is there a good combo amp to compete? Opinions? Thanks!!

2 Likes

Welcome aboard, @jejoshua406 . . . :slight_smile:

There’s lots of opinions and discussion about amps on these threads!

I have a Rumble 100 now, so my opinion would be to take a look at either the Rumble 200 or 500 combo amps.

I’m sure others will chime in with their thoughts. You can also do a search for combo amps on these Forums.

Here’s one thread you could look at:

Cheers
Joe

5 Likes

Thank You!

3 Likes

Normally, every time you double the power you get 3 more dB level out of your system.

Since you are starting with 100 Watts, you will get:

+3dB at 200 Watts
+6dB at 400 Watts
+9dB at 800 Watts

The Rumble series, however, has funny numbering.

The Rumble 200 only gives you 200 if you use both the combo speaker AND also add on an extension cabinet. Otherwise, you get 140 Watts from the combo system only. In terms of Watts that rounds off to approximately 0 improvement over 100 Watts. It does have a 15” driver, so that will get you some more low lows though. This will do you no good.

The Rumble 500 is a similar story. It gives you 350 Watts stand alone and 500 Watts if you attach the extension cabinet. So, you would get almost a 6dB improvement and that’s a significant step up.

I don’t know if that actually solves your problem, but hopefully gives some perspective and helps you avoid a marketing pothole.

9 Likes

The 500 is also a 2x10 which will be great for the mids which is what you actually want to punch through.

6 Likes