Headphone Amp Suggestions

Hello!

My boyfriend is an avid bass player and I am wanting to get him a headphone amp for Christmas. Problem is, I don’t know much about the equipment and what is considered “good” for advanced players.

One that would be good for camping (more portable and fewer things to bring) would be ideal!

What headphone amp is worth the purchase? Headphone suggestions? Additionally, is there anything else I should consider getting to go along with the gift?

Thanks in advance!

4 Likes

Sorry, I can´t help you with your question…but do you maybe have a sister who is single and equally generous? :grin: :grin: :grin:

5 Likes

Josh recommends the Vox amPlug 2 Bass Headphone Amp in his gadget video: 10 Gadgets to Make You a Better Bassist (Or NOT?) - YouTube

I have it and am satisfied with it, but I am far from a professional player and honestly rarely use it as I usually have other options.

6 Likes

There’s also the Vox VGH, which is a headphone and preamp in one, and can also do effects

3 Likes

I prefer the NUX to the Vox for several reasons.
Varied tones you can save in 6 presets.
Less hiss.
Bluetooth for playalong.
Rechargeable battery.

2 Likes

I have these, and would probably not purchase them again. They feel flimsy.

Functionally, they are great and no complaints

3 Likes

Can’t go wrong with the Vox Amplug imo. If you are looking for something premium you could consider the BOSS - WAZA-AIR BASS | Wireless Personal Bass Amplification System

The Zoom B1 Four / B1xFour | ZOOM is also a popular option.

6 Likes

I use the Vox at home because the actual amp annoys my wife, but yes, it’s flimsy…you have to be careful not to bend it the wrong direction. The nice thing about them though is that you have an aux jack too…I pipe my computer into it as well so I can hear @JoshFossgreen during my lessons.

2 Likes